SPECIAL EDITION

Congratulations!

- Lee Foundation NHG-NUHS Lifetime
 Achievement Award 2013
- NUS Outstanding Service Award 2013
- Emeritus Professor
- Faculty Awards AY2011/2012



Medicine

Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine A publication of The Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine ● Issue 7 / August 2013

Lee Foundation
NHG-NUHS Lifetime
Achievement Award 2013



Professor Yap Hui KimDepartment of Paediatrics

The prestigious Lee Foundation NHG-NUHS Lifetime Achievement Award recognises outstanding clinician leaders from NHG and NUHS in clinical, education and research excellence. Professor Yap Hui Kim is a pioneer of the Paediatric Nephrology service at NUHS and in Singapore. She was instrumental in starting and developing the National Paediatric Renal Replacement Programme (Dialysis and Transplantation for children) in 1988. Her unwavering commitment to the medical industry is underscored by her pivotal clinical achievements, immense contributions to medical education, and active participation in regional and international research platforms.

NUS Outstanding Service Award 2013



Professor John Wong Eu-Li
Department of Medicine

The NUS Outstanding Service Award recognises sustained meritorious service to the department, faculty, university, national and/or international communities. It also encompasses contributions to governmental and non-governmental organisations. Professor John Wong Eu-Li is recognised as a major architect of Singapore's fast-growing life science landscape. He has played a key role in building up the quality of oncology and life sciences research, nurtured bright young clinicians and clinician-scientists, and recruited world-class talents to Singapore.

Emeritus Professor



Professor Ling Eng Ang Department of Anatomy

The title of Emeritus Professor is conferred in recognition of distinguished scholarship and outstanding service to the University. Professor Ling Eng Ang is an eminent neuroscientist, whose long-abiding research interest and leadership in the biology of microglia has received many international accolades. As Head of Anatomy from 1998-2008, Prof Ling was pivotal in developing the Department into an emerging regional hub for Human Anatomy Education and a Centre of Excellence in Asia. He is tirelessly committed to the highest standards of academic scholarship, leadership and service.

Faculty Awards AY2011/2012

All the faculty staff featured in this special edition are distinguished by their exceptional accomplishments and dedication to medical education and research in NUS. Recipients of the Teaching Excellence Awards went through a three-phase selection process, which included a rigorous examination of student feedback and peer reviews. Only 10% of the faculty's academic population is selected each year for this award. The Research Excellence Awards were given out based on the recipients' research track record and the overall impact of their research. Significant breakthroughs or outstanding accomplishments were also recognised.

Faculty Teaching Excellence Award AY2011/2012



Associate Professor Ti Lian Kah Department of Anaesthesia



Dr Yew Wen ShanDepartment of Anaesthesia



Dr Alfred Kow Wei ChiehDepartment of Surgery



Dr Liaw Sok YingAlice Lee Centre for
Nursing Studies



Associate Professor Ng Yee Kong Department of Anatomy



Associate Professor
Lau Tang Ching
Department of Medicine



Dr Reshma MerchantDepartment of Medicine



Dr Derrick Aw Chen WeeDepartment of Medicine



Associate Professor Teo Yik Ying Saw Swee Hock School of Public Health

Faculty Outstanding Researcher Award AY2011/2012



Professor Aung Tin
Department of Ophthalmology

Faculty Research Excellence Award AY2011/2012

Clinician Scientists



Associate Professor James Hui Hoi PoDepartment of Orthopaedic Surgery



Associate Professor Tai E Shyong
Department of Medicine



Associate Professor Raymond Seet
Chee Seong
Department of Medicine

Basic Scientist



Associate Professor Kevin Tan Shyong Wei Department of Microbiology



Associate Professor Reshma Taneja Department of Physiology



Associate Professor Wang De YunDepartment of Otolaryngology