What's Happening @ mBio

NUS Medicine Teaching Excellence Award for Academic Year 2015/2016

The Department of Microbiology & Immunology has been awarded the NUS Medicine Teaching Excellence Award for Academic Year 2015/2016. The Award recognizes departments for excellent teaching each year across all teaching sites at national level. Well done!

Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine Special Recognition Award

Adjunct A/Prof Timothy Barkham was awarded the Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine Special Recognition Award for Academic Year 2015/2016. The award recognizes the role models to our NUS medical undergraduates and is based on students’ indication in the Graduate Exit Questionnaire (GEQ).

Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine Research Excellence Award

A/Prof Paul MacAry was awarded the Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine Research Excellence Award for Academic Year 2015/2016. This award recognises faculty members who have achieved research excellence.

The Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine Graduate Mentor of The Year (GRAMAY) Award 2017

A/Prof Kevin Tan was awarded the GRAMAY 2017 award in recognition of his excellence in graduate mentorship and professional development of graduate students in Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine.

Congratulations to our staff for their long service award

  • Thong Khar Tiang nee Chan (40 years)
  • Yap Yeong Hock (40 years)

Congratulations to our students on their achievement in the 7th Annual Graduate Scientific Congress 2017

Oral Presentations

  • Too Horng Khit (supervisor: A/Prof Sylvie Alonso)

Best Poster Presentations

  • Chen Weihua Elijah (supervisor: Prof N. Gascoigne)
  • Cho Su Lei Sharol (supervisor: A/Prof Zhang YL)
  • Tong Jie Xin (supervisor: A/Prof Kevin Tan)

Congratulations to our student on his achievement in the FY2016 Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine Best Graduate Oral Presentation (Overseas) and Research Publication Awards

Best Oral Presentation Award

  • Mukul Prasad (supervisor: Prof N. Gascoigne)

Farewell and Retirements

In the month of May 2016, we bid farewell to Dr. Bruce Russell and wished him all the best in his new career.

Happy retirement to the following faculty and our heartfelt thanks to them for their dedicated services to the department:
Prof Mike Kemeny, retired in May 2016 (11 years of service)
Emeritus Prof Chan Soh Ha, retired end June 2016 (40 years of service)
Associate Professor Ho Bow, retired end June 2016 (37 years of service)

Nuclear DNA Gets Cut and Activates Immune System to Attack Cancer Cells

Dr. Stephan Gasser and his lab, in collaboration with National Cancer Centre Singapore discovered that when nuclear DNA gets cut, it activates the immune system to attach cancer cells. This discovery was published in Immnunity May 2016.

Read More

Congratulations to Dr. Justin Chu

Dr. Justin Chu was awarded the NUS Faculty Young Research Award for AY2014/2015. This award recognises junior faculty members who have demonstrated great potential in research and achieved research excellence.

Potent parasite-killing mechanism of Nobel Prize-winning anti-malaria drug uncovered

A team of researchers from NUS have uncovered the mystery behind the potent parasite-killing effect of anti-malaria drug. A/Prof Kevin Tan is a member of this team and this interesting study is published in Nature Communications.

Read More

Medicine's backroom boys

The Department and Dr. Volker Patzel's research were featured in the November issue of MediCine (see page 7 & 8)

Read more

Celebrating 90th year of excellence in Microbiology and Immunology

The Department celebrated its 90th anniversary on 30 October 2015 with a scientific symposium in the morning. Keynote speakers were Prof Barry Bloom and Prof Malik Peiris. Provost Prof Tan Eng Chye was the guest of honor.

The celebration continued in the afternoon with food and wine at the department seminar and conference rooms.

Read More

Photo gallery

Renaming of Department of Microbiology

Since its beginnings as the Department of Bacteriology in 1925, the Department of Microbiology has come a long way in its work on microbiology and immunology and has made significant contributions to public health, research and education. In a move to better reflect the converging interactions of the microbiology and immunology disciplines, the Department of Microbiology has been officially renamed the Department of Microbiology and Immunology, with effect from 23 September 2015.

The new name will more accurately represent the range of interests and expertise of the faculty, which consists of microbiologists and immunologists, and poise the Department for greater recognition in the world immunology community.

A/Prof Ho Bow's winning innovation depicted in abstract painting

Endotoxin-diagnostic and endotoxin-removal technology, developed and commercialised in 2000 and 2004 respectively, by Professor Ding Jeak Ling (Department of Biological Sciences) and Associate Professor Ho Bow was depicted in an abstract painting, A Cyclical Lifestyle. This is one of the art pieces that will be showcased in a roving exhibition "Innovati50n".

Read More

12th NUS-Nagasaki Joint Symposium on Infectious Diseases

Held on 11th & 12th June 2015, the 12th NUS-Nagasaki Joint Symposium on Infectious Diseases is a landmark to commemorate and celebrate the establishment of the Centre for Translational Medicine (CeTM) in NUS, which was the venue for the Symposium. Invited speakers presented data on advanced technological innovations and new insights in host-pathogen interactions as a key theme of this sympoisum for both universities.


  • prize award winners:
  • 1st prize - Tan Kai Sen
  • 2nd prize - Wilfred Moreira

Read More

View Photo Gallery

Dengue-infected cells can be destroyed by T cells

A team of scientists from Duke-NUS and Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine have discovered that dengue-infected cells can be destroyed and prevented from multiplying by T cells. A/Prof Paul MacAry is a member of this team.

Read More

Congratulations to A/Prof Sim Tiow Suan

A/Prof Sim Tiow Suan was presented the inaugural Outstanding Safety & Health Champion Award at the NUS Annual Safety and Health Award Ceremony 2014/2015 held on 15 April 2015.

Read More

ASHPA 2014/15

We have been awarded the Commitment Award to Safety & Health Excellence. Well done everyone!

Congratulations to A/Prof Sylvie Alonso

A/Prof Sylvie Alonso was awarded the Faculty Research Excellence Award. This award recognises faculty members who have achieved excellence as researchers for Academic Year 2013/2014.

Congratulations to A/Prof Veronique Angeli

A/Prof Veronique Angeli was awarded the 2015 NUHS-Mochtar Riady Pinnacle Young Achiever Award. The Young Achiever Award recognises young NUHS colleagues who have demonstrated excellence in their professional fields and is an exemplary model to colleagues

Read More

Farewell lunch for Prof Mary Ng

The Department organised a farewell lunch for Prof Mary Ng on 15 Dec 2014 at Straits Kitchen, Hyatt Hotel. Thank you Prof Ng for your dedicated 32 years of service and distinguised career at the Department!

View Photo Gallery

Congratulations to A/Prof Paul MacAry

A/Prof Paul MacAry was awarded the inaugural NRF Investigatorship (Class of 2015) in recognition of his track record of research achievements and contributions. He will receive up to $3 million over 5 years and will continue his research on molecular engineering of fully human monoclonal antibodies.

Congratulations to Prof Nicholas Gascoigne

Prof Gascoigne was appointed as Provost's Chair with effect from 1 Oct 2014. This appointment is in recognition his outstanding and impactful scholarly accomplishments, which are internationally acknowledged. The appointment is tenable for a period of 3 years.